HORROR

So a few weeks ago I met with a multi published author to review my short story “Compulsion.” I wasn’t sure what she would say, and to be honest, I was quite nervous with what to expect. To my surprise, she enjoyed it. In fact she said it was a great example of Christian Horror. That’s when I had to do a double take…

“Horror?” I asked.

“Yes. It’s a horror story.”

I was a little confused. “No,” I said. “It’s suspense, it’s mystery. Stephen King. Now that’s horror.”

Her response was simple. “Trust me, it’s horror.”

I nodded and simply said: “Okay then. It’s horror.”

I didn’t like that title, but I have come to understand that Christianity and Horror go hand in hand. The fact is we live in a world that is broken, dieing, hurting, slithering in pain, and swallowed up by guilt and political correctness everyday… It’s tough to live out your faith from time to time… In fact, with the response we have seen in recent weeks to one CEO’s veiws, it’s a wonder that more of us don’t curl up and hide…

I’ve been working on a new book this evening, and as I plot it out, I can’t help but think of the horror this particular character is going to endure during this story… Even though she is fully fiction- I feel for the pain I am about to personally inflict upon her… It’s uncomforting and I’m worried that I may cross a line… But it has made me stop and think about those I know and see every day… Those who are trying desperately to crawl up out of a pit of pain… Some do it with loud and constant complaining.. Others do it quietly and alone…

I’m asking myself now:  How much do I truly break for them… How much do I find myself falling down and praying on there behalf… The truth is, most times I find myself walking by, afraid to look over for fear they will stop and pour out their life story on me… Why is it that we do that…? Too busy…? Exhaustion…? Fear…? The truth is, it doesn’t matter… But most times I have found I can always give whatever excuse is needed…

1 John 1:5 says “That God is light, and in him is no darkness at all.” I pray I feel and break for the weak… I pray I learn to stop, be paitent, listen, and reflect the light of the God I serve…

One response to “HORROR

  • Debbie Lowe

    I am enjoying your writing. It concerns me that people make assumptions about other people, from what they know about that person to be true. What we believe to be true is sometimes not true at all. When we make assumptions, I think, we are judging people and their thoughts.
    When you make a character up, their Minds are a blank slate. You decide everything for them. That seems to be very satisfying to me. Good luck with your writing career. I will be waiting for more to read.

Leave a Reply

