My Top Ten Reads

I read… Simply put I read a lot… I love the idea of setting down with a good novel and getting lost… To say I’m not a fiction addict would be a lie. It’s how I pass the time. It’s how I let go of the stress of life. It’s how I ‘Unwind’.

I probably average anywhere from twenty to twenty five novels a year. Some short, some long… Not all are good… But most are great… And a few of leave me closing the cover for the last time saying to myself, “I won’t read one that good again for a long time.”

So here it is… My top ten list for novels I would read and then re-read again… Then to follow, my top five I will never pick up again… These are in no particular order…

Best and I would read them twice:

1. A Painted House by John Grisham

2. Under the Dome by Stephen King

3. The Road by Cormac McCarthy

4. The Murder of Roger Akroyd by Agatha Christie

5. Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy

6. Watchers by Dean Koontz

7. Adam by Ted Dekker

8. The Firm by John Grisham

9. The Postman by David Brinn

10. John Adams by David McCullough

The Worst I can’t believe I bothered with:

1. Twilight by Stephanie Myer (“Vampire that sparkle in the sun” for real/ weak prose)

2. Lisy’s Story by Stephen King (To depressing and melodramatic characters)

3. Thirteen Moons by Charles Frazier (Yawned all the way through)

4. Your Heart Belongs to Me by Dean Koonz (Major let down about 2/3 of the way in)

5. The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown (Sorry just a weak plot)

Leave a Reply

