Time Sacrificed / A focus regained…

Not that anyone ever reads my blog or that I have a tendency to care… I do this more as my simple way to journal my feelings… A way to get crazy thoughts in my head out on to the page where I can feel a since of relief and regain some sanity from what goes around in my mind…

For the past week I have been on vacation helping my wife during her buisiest week of the year… For those that don’t know my wife is a culinary graduate, a certified chef and a member of the culinary federation of America. I’m very proud of what she has accomplished with and in her life…  At  the moment she serves as the food service director for Hednderson Hills in Edmond.This week is our churches Christmas Production… During this week she is working 14 hours a day preparing dinner for a cast and crew of 150 and baking over 1,200 deserts a day for a reception that immediately follows the production… It is extremly exhausting and time consuming but well worth the effort and the time…

Today I found my attitude a little bitter though… Bitter about giving up MY vacation, MY time that I earned, MY free days, MY, MY, MY, MY…

How many times do we get to point where all we focus on is ME ME ME…? I don’t know where a Christmas Production ranks in the large scheme of things… Whether or not it will matter in ten years… But that is not the point… It’s about service and sacrifice…

During this week I knew my wife would need me… I knew she would need my help… But the sacrifice wasn’t what I was giving up… Sure I wasn’t able to sleep until ten each day… Sure I didn’t get a word written on any of my short stories I write… Sure I didn’t get to sit on the couch in my underwear and watch TV while eating cookies… I wasn’t able to those things… But you see I don’t care… The sacrifice is what I gained

 Each day I had a lot of time to sit and think… I read my Bible from my iphone and on my Kindle… I was able to slow down during those times and focus and realize that the moments we have that seem like they’re being taken away are sometimes actually moments when we can receive something that is worth the time we give away… For me this week, what I gave up was some time… What I gained is a better understanding of what it means “To be still…” I found a focus I hadn’t had in some time…

Though I may be a little tired (At the moment the Red Bull is kicking in though) I feel somewhat refreshed by just having had the chance to push the pause button on everyday life and occupy my time with something else… What a joy this week has been to watch and serve with my wife…

One response to “Time Sacrificed / A focus regained…

  • Wilma Mobley

    That was a beautiful blog..didn’t know you could write or express your self that way. It’s always a good thing to help someone in need, that’s what we are put on this earth for, to help one another even when we don’t feel like it or even if it doesn’t benefit our needs or wants…giving up your time and vacation for the woman you love is greaaaat. and you shall be rewarded. ” If you live only for yourself you are always in immediate danger of being bored to death with the repetition of your own views and interest”…Walter Be’ran Wolfe. Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people..colossians 3:23-24…and look at it this way,you didn’t have to put up with me and fulfillment for a week lol…see you Monday!!!l

Leave a Reply

