Interview with Jennifer Martin!!!

It’s that time of the year. You know, that period where we willing go to lengths to give ourselves a scare. It’s that time when we return and devour the classics of Poe, Lovecraft, King and Koontz. A time when we search for something that will leave us reaching for the lamp at three in morning, afraid that if we put it down we’ll loose sleep. It’s that time when we read and then feel those tiny hairs on the back of our neck stand. We turn searching for the dead that may be haunting us and leave us wondering “why in the world do I bother to read this stuff?”

Growing up I lived through the classics of John Carpenter, Wes Craven, Tobe Hooper, Sean S. Cunningham and Victor Miller. It was a part of being rasied in a small town. A life of scary movies and stories told in the back woods around camp fires and small TV’s. You see in my life there was an art to getting scared. It was less about blood, guts, and ooze and more about those magical moments that interupted your sleep until the late hours of the early morning. That’s why every Halloween I search for that one book that I know will bring that uneasy feeling. This year I found it in “Fear: A Modern Anthology of Horror and Terror.” A collection of short stories by some of the best.

Over the past few weeks I’ve gotten to know Jennifer Martin who is one of the authors in this Anthology. Jennifer took some time to answer a few questions for us. I hope you enjoy her insight as well as take the time to download this book.

All right Jennifer… Thanks for taking some time to chat with us… First, why don’t you start off by telling us a little bit about yourself…?

Hello!  My name is Jennifer Martin.  I live in El Paso, TX with my husband and two children.  We have a couple of pups and a couple of kitties too.  By day I work as an Executive Assistant, by night I write.  I have been writing since I was little.  My first book (only published within my school) was when I was about 8 years old.  I wrote a children’s story about my nephew and a magical pen.

(To Buy Click on the Cover Below)

You’ve got a short story coming out in an anthology titled FEAR… Why don’t you tell us a little bit about your story as well as the anthology.

Yes, the anthology is Fear: A Modern Anthology of Horror and Terror, and comes out October 3rd, 2012 from Crooked Cat Publishing.  I’m very excited about it.  It’s a collection from 60 Indie authors and will be in two volumes.  My story ‘Don’t Break The Glass’ will be in the first volume.  It is a story about the beginning of a zombie outbreak, and a family’s struggle to survive.  It will be available in ebook format as well as print on demand.  The facebook page for the book is: http://www.facebook.com/fearanthology

I get this question a lot from people… Why horror…? What is it about scary stories that intrigues you…? Why write it…?

I have always loved horror.  Since I was a small child I loved stories that scared me into sleeping with the lights on and jumping off of my bed so that nothing could grab my ankles.  I think that the allure of the unknown mixed with a vivid imagination has given me a good handle on the genre.  Since it is what I love to read, it only makes sense that I should write it.  Like they say, “Write what you know.”

When did you first discovered you wanted to be a writer…?

I always knew I wanted to write.  I began reading very young, and was fascinated by books.  I thought that there would be nothing more awesome than to be able to create magic like that.

I asked this in my last interview but I always love to hear everyone else’s answer… If you could sit and chat or interview any author dead or alive who would it be and why…?

Wow, that’s a tough one!  There are a few options who wrote but weren’t necessarily authors per se.   Dead or alive I would probably have to pick H.P. Lovecraft.  The man had such an interesting twisted mind, and he was rather funny as well.  I love his work, and would be interested in picking his brain…figuratively…..not, um, zombie status or anything.  If I had to pick a living author it would be Dean Koontz.  He goes off in a myriad of directions, and I love his style.

So what’s next…? What future works you got coming out that we can look forward too…?

Well, I have some other short stories that are out in publisher cyberspace, awaiting a reply, and I am working hard on finishing my novel Certain Madness.  It is a Paranormal/Urban Fantasy novel about a girl who discovers reincarnation, has to deal with her past lives as well as vampires, witches, etc.  I will have that out (knock on wood) the beginning of next year.  I’m just getting warmed up; you haven’t heard the last of me!

http://www.facebook.com/jennifer.martinauthor

http://www.facebook.com/authorjennifermartin

jennifermartinauthor.wordpress,com

www.twitter.com/jenmartinauthor

jenmartinauthor@gmail.com

About daydreamingwriter

Just a thirty FIVE year old daydreaming writer... View all posts by daydreamingwriter

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 545 other followers

